Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Re: Hide away

Hello, friend 🙂

How are you this morning?

I've been to church and saw all my friends present. But I walked out early and didn't speak to one... Why do I feel like such a scoundrel? They are great people...

@tyme 

I'm studying website design at Uni just 2 subjects this trimester,  I find studying for interest or for Uni one of the only ways to keep my mind busy when I get intrusive thoughts. If I get too unwell to study I crash fast. I really love the combination of the creative and the technical. 

I might get to the ocean and see a horizon it's a great escape from inner city crammed in living. 

Will see when she gets here.

It happens @Kyle1 - i did something similar last night. Went to church and didn't talk to anyone. Came home, but I didn't feel bad about it. I just didn't want to talk lol.

I used to go to church, sometimes I'd need to sit out in the foyer as there were too many people. I made a couple of good friends but church can be a very scary place for me sometimes. 

The social expectations, the fear of being judged for being different, there were a lot of triggers from my upbringing.

At the same time it is important to develop and maintain a regular spiritual practice. I struggle to find that when I am so down on myself. 

Faith is so attached to judgement for me I really struggle to find a way forward. 

Especially the last year or so. 

@Kyle1 

Did you find anything good when out and about?

Flotsam
Senior Contributor