Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Winchester
Casual Contributor

What it really feels like

Hello, I am new to SANE Forums and I guess I came here to ask for your help, and to provide any help that I can in return. I am currently in year 12 and studying units 3 and 4 in art. We have been assigned to choose a theme to base our body of work on that will be assessed and give us our overall mark, we were told to choose a theme that means something to us. For me, there was a particular theme that stood out to me: Mental illnesses and what it really feels like to suffer them. I have suffered from anorexia and bulimia, which then lead to depression and anxiety. There is one thing that frustrated me more than anything when I was trying to recover from these illnesses, and that was the fact that so many people did not understand a thing about how it actually felt. Everyone has their own ideas of what mental illnesses are and what it does to the person suffering them, but I believe that you actually have no idea what it feels like, what it does to you, and why it happens, unless you are suffering or have suffered from the mental illness itself. I want to base my artwork on what it feels like to have mental Illnesses, I want to demonstrate through my art the truth about mental illnesses. Although I do have some of my thoughts and views on my chosen theme, it would be so incredibly helpful if you could describe to me what you believe it feels like to have a mental Illness. Any sort of feedback would be a great help to me, whether it be your story, a description of thoughts you had/have while suffering, what image you believe mental illnesses should be depicted as, or even just a single w