Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

emma123
New Contributor

Frustrated with psychiatrist care

Just joined to get some support from other people who are dealing with similar situations. Bit of background: my husband has paranoid disorder (paranoid ideas, people are following us in our home etc. But no halucinations). He has been on medication (antipsychotic +SSRI) and has maintained his job, never needed to take a day off, never been hospitalised. As a carer I am very proud of this, because it has not been easy. I've put a massive effort into supporting him, making sure he gets the best medical care (I have an MD degree myself, and I think this helps).

Now onto the problem: as most people with paranoid disorder, his paranoid ideas are very real to him. Hence he doesn't think he needs the treatment. I've managed to convince him to take it to "deal with the stress of what he's going through". For the past 3 years, he did not have any symptoms, but I still booked him in to see his psychiatrist once a year (in Oct last year). He told the psychiatrist he would like to go off medication. The doctor told him to go off his SSRI by reducing to half for two weeks and then stop taking it. No follow up appointment was scheduled.