Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Me_again
New Contributor

Acceptance..?

Hi all, 

I’m new to sane, I got referred here by my

psychiatrist after a diagnosis of bipolar II and I’m still struggling to come to terms with it. Any suggestions on different strategies that have worked for you accepting your diagnosis. 

15 REPLIES 15

Re: Acceptance..?

Hey @Me_again Welcome to the forums. I'm hearing you're still coming to terms with a new diagnosis and that's really hard. I hope you will find some supportive people here who will share their own experiences with you. 

I'm going to tag some members to get you started.

@NatureLover @wellwellwellnez @Flying_Hams @Eve7 @AussieRecharger @maddison 

All the best with your recovery 😊

@Paperdaisy Very much so still coming to terms with my diagnosis and I’m struggling to accept that I need medication everyday. It’s a hard thing I guess 😞 I don’t know, just feeling very overwhelmed I guess is the right word. 

Hello @Me_again and welcome to the forums. There are lots of friendly folk here with lived experience and who are willing to share with you.

I don’t have bipolar 2 but I do have depression and I understand what it’s like to live with a mental illness.

There are several social threads here as well as helpful information so, when you have time, have a look around.

Take care 😊

Hi @Me_again 

You've come to the right place if you're looking for support and a safe space. 

I don't have bipolar but I do suffer mental illness. 'Radical acceptance' had helped in to accept myself and my situation instead of panicking about it. Because that makes the anxiety a lot worse. 

Anyway, it's nice to meet you ❤

Christheart 

X